Shawhaven Haunted Farm Draws People For Halloween Season

By Megan Baughman
Mason News staff writer

Shawhaven Farm has changed its image for the month of October by turning in its crops and livestock for ghosts and vampires for the residents of Mason, along with people around Michigan, to visit.

Overview of the sheep and barn at Shawhaven Farm

The farm has been in the Shaw family since 1947, specializing in dairy for 55 years before the family switched over to beef cattle.  Year-round they offer farm tours and horse drawn wagon rides for many occasions, but during the month of October, they run a haunted barn, corn maze, and hayride for people to enjoy as Halloween approaches.  People can do all of the attractions or pick whichever ones they would like to do.  “I did all three parts of it because without doing all three parts, you won’t have as good of a time there when you would if you have done all three,” claims Megan Reilly, a freshman at Mason High School.  “My favorite part is the haunted barn, it is also the most scary for me because you never know what is going to be around the next corner.”

“I did all three of the attractions,” said Bridget Hudson, a sophomore at Mason High School, “but the haunted barn scared me the most.  I just hated it.”  Courtney Deweerd, a sophomore at Mason High School, also agreed with Hudson.  “I did the haunted barn and the corn maze and I thought they both were scary,” she said.  “I liked the barn the best, though, because the moon kind of made it so you could see what was coming in the maze.”

Not everyone was as afraid of the barn as Hudson and Deweerd.  Lexie Williams, a

The barn where the "haunted barn" took place

sophomore at Mason High School, claimed that the barn could have been a lot scarier.  “The barn scared me because it was dark and we couldn’t find our way out of a room because it had a bunch of doors, but only a few people came out and scared you,” she said.  “I feel like they could have done a better job with visual effects and costumes.  I thought it would be scarier than it really was.”

Kacie Klott, a freshman at Mason High School, thought the scariest attraction was the corn maze.  “I liked the corn maze the best because the people got right up in your face and they talked to you,” she said. “It was

The corn field where both the haunted maze and haunted hay ride took place

funny and scary at the same time.”  Williams also agreed.  “The corn maze was pretty scary,” she said.  “The scariest part was when there was a guy with a chain saw because he got so close to us.  Normally you could see the “scary” people though and you knew when they were going to pop out.  Plus they really weren’t scary looking.”

This Halloween season, if you are looking for something spooky to take part in on one of these fall evenings, Shawhaven is one place you can count on for a fright.

About Megan Baughman

My name is Megan, I’m 25 years old, and I graduated from Michigan State University in May 2012 with a BA in Journalism, and in 2015 with an MA in Advertising. I’m craft, food & fashion obsessed and, in turn, I run my own YouTube page with all of my ideas! Check out my Etsy store at etsy.com/shop/hopsandhoney!
This entry was posted in Community, Megan Baughman and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

