Weekend Activities for Teenage Students

By Megan Baughman
Mason News staff writer

With a town of 4.6 square miles, which in teenage terms, is equivalent to about 80 football fields, a high school student in the town of Mason may ask, “What is there for kids my age to do in a town this small?”  Town size does play tricks on you, however, because Mason offers a lot for high school students to do on the weekends.

A favorite among the high school community is visiting local parks to spend some time with friends. “I like to hang out at Raynor Park,” said Mason High School freshman Kacie Klott.  “I play soccer there and it’s really close to the school and convenient.”  Alexis Kelbert, also a sophomore at Mason High School, agreed with Klott.  “I love to go to Raynor Park because I enjoy playing soccer there. It’s a nice place to go and play,” she said.  Ryan Joseph, a senior at Mason High School, does not go to the park, but he goes to the school track to bond with his friends.  “I frequently go to the track and run with friends. It’s open for everyone and it’s fun to run with friends,” he said.

Amid Mason’s quaint and historic downtown, high school students have found a few shops they like to spend their time at.  “I would have to say that I enjoy going to Layline Park and Bestsellers Books & Coffee,” said E.J. Rumler, a sophomore at Mason High School.  “Bestsellers is a nice place to hang out with friends, get coffee and books, and they both are really close by and convenient.”  Alexis Carpenter, a junior at Mason High School, has also found a place where she and her friends can bond over food.  “I enjoy going to Turtle Tom’s Ice Cream Shoppe,” she said.  “There’s always a lot of people there, and I like to go see my friends and get some delicious ice cream.”

A recurring theme with high school students was a place where food is served, along with entertainment.  City Limits Sports Grill is a restaurant where many high school students like to spend their time because there is also a bowling alley attached to the restaurant. “I would have to say my favorite place to hang out is City Limits Sports Grill,” said Bridget Hudson, a sophomore at Mason High School.  “Their food is good, and it’s always fun to bowl and have a good time.”  Joseph felt the same way about City Limits. “I also go to City Limits to chill with friends, get some food and have a good time,” he said.

Apart from the parks and restaurants around Mason, there are other activities students can enjoy.  In the summer beginning with the end of the school year, there is a weekly concert called “Thursday Night Live.”  The high school band plays at these concerts and occasionally some local bands do, which gives students the chance to support their friends.  Throughout the year, there are multiple parades in downtown Mason, like the Memorial Day parade, Christmas parade, and the Homecoming parade.  The Christmas parade is a large one every year, with a tree lighting and multiple activities for students to take part in.  Last, but not least, one of the most popular events for high school students to attend is Mason High School’s home football games, where students can socialize with peers while also supporting their team.

There are many events for students to take part in and enjoy, along with many places they can go to spend time with their friends.  Despite Mason’s square mileage, the town is packed with multiple places and events for high school students and teenagers to enjoy on the weekend.

About Megan Baughman

My name is Megan, I’m 25 years old, and I graduated from Michigan State University in May 2012 with a BA in Journalism, and in 2015 with an MA in Advertising. I’m craft, food & fashion obsessed and, in turn, I run my own YouTube page with all of my ideas! Check out my Etsy store at etsy.com/shop/hopsandhoney!
This entry was posted in Community, Megan Baughman and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

